Use tsMuxeR on Snow Leopard

This is a quick tutorial on how to get the great tool tsMuxeR to work on Snow Leopard.

There are a few reaons why tsMuxeR will not run under Snow Leopard.

1) GUI is not working due to an incompatibility in the qtlib.

Problem solved with new GUI – link Below

2) tsMuxeR is not working due to fonts interpretations problem.
You will get a ‘bus error’ when trying to execute the command in command-line mode.
The problem is due to 2 particulars korean fonts supplied in Snow Leopard.

To solve the problem, delete or rename
the two following fonts :

AppleMyungjo.ttf and Gungseouche.ttf

They are located in /Library/Fonts
When done, the tsMuxeR command Line should Work.

New Working Version
Based on these problems, here is a custom built GUI by someone called VoxMac with the original tsMuxeR 1.10.6 added inside the application.

TsMuxer Snow Leopard Download

.

The Information for the post  came from the SmartLabs Blog:

SmartLabs Blog

SmartLabs Website

    • VoxMac
    • February 25th, 2010

    It Might be a good idea to put the reference to the forum(s) or blog where you have initially taken the information.

    Regards,

    VoxMac (Author of the hack :-) ).

    • Ya your dead right, I have updated the post with link to the SmartLabs Blog and website.

      And thank you very much for the effort gone into this great hack.

    • nutmac
    • February 25th, 2010

    Thanks for the build. I can’t get the subtitle to work (either SRT or subtitle track from MKV). Do you know if that’s due to qtlib issue?

    • I don’t know, I would guess it could be related to the issue with font’s.

      Edit:

      I have messed around with some subtitle files, I can’t seem to cause any errors.
      It all seems to work correctly.
      What exactly is not functioning for you?

      Maybe try use SubCleaner –
      SubCleaner Downlaod
      Its a very handy tool that can repair .srt file with errors, might help

      VoxMac might be able to shed some light on this issue.

      • VoxMac
      • February 25th, 2010

      What is exactly your problem ?
      Wrong characters or nothing appears ?
      Does the MKV works properly with subtitles on your mac ?

      The only problem i’ve encountered, was due to the use of a bad Charset. If it’s the problem, you can re-encode your mkv using mkvtoolnix, in order to set charset properly.

      I usually use Arial 48 or 64, and had no problem watching the subtitles on my PS3 or on my Sony Blu-Ray players.

      • nutmac
      • February 26th, 2010

      When I select the MKV file into tsMuxeR, it fails to detect the subtitle track (English track from DVD rip). If I override by adding an SRT file (English) into tsMuxeR, it detects and lets me select it. But the resulting M2TS output file fails to include the subtitle track no matter what I do.

        • nutmac
        • February 26th, 2010

        And yes, subtitle from MKV file works fine on Movist/VLC or MPlayer OSX Extended.

    • FFF
    • March 4th, 2010

    Same problem too.
    MKV file and SRT that works in VLC.
    I tried .ts, .m2ts, avchd but they can never be turned on, on ps3.

    • FFF
    • March 13th, 2010

    I did a AVCHD with the same mkv file and srt file. (no errors).
    After that I applied a workflow that change these filenames:

    movieobject.bdmv into movieobj.bdm
    index.bdmv into index.bdm
    .clpi into .cpi
    .mpls into .mps
    .m2ts into .mts

    I made a AVCHD folder in my usb key and coping the 2 folders into it.
    Ps3 shows an avchd, but when I play it nothing appears. The menu that shows with triangle appears but it is flickering.
    I can play the mts file if I choose it from the internal folders (but it doesn’t shows the subs)

    • Auggie
    • May 2nd, 2010

    I get a “Can’t detect stream type” error with every m2ts file I try :(

      • VoxMac
      • May 11th, 2010

      Did you delete the two korean fonts ?
      Have you taken the version from my links ?

        • Peter
        • July 6th, 2010

        Same problem as Auggie… I get the “can’t detect stream type” with every m2ts-file i try to open. And yes: i have searched for the 2 Korean fonttypes, and they don’t even appear to be in my system…

    • Patrick
    • July 22nd, 2010

    Peter :
    Same problem as Auggie… I get the “can’t detect stream type” with every m2ts-file i try to open. And yes: i have searched for the 2 Korean fonttypes, and they don’t even appear to be in my system…

    I do have the same problem as Peter. So do anybody have a solution? It will be much appreciated!!!

    • Max
    • August 18th, 2010

    Same problem for me too :(

    • kenny powers
    • September 4th, 2010

    same problem here…

    • kenny powers
    • September 5th, 2010

    actually, i just tried adding an mkv file to the project and got the same error message!

    sooooooo….what files types DO work in this software???

    • sunny
    • October 11th, 2010

    hey, i just got it working! you need to to run onyx afterwards and clear the font cache. if you dont find the fonts in the directory – its not that they are not there, you need to scroll down and look for them. searching wont work. i found mine in ‘macintosh hd – library – fonts’. now i gotta try, if the movie runs on the ps3.

    cheers

    • Adam Newman
    • October 16th, 2010

    I too am having the same problem, and yes neither of those fonts are on my system. I’ve double and triple checked. Hopefully VoxMac can come up with an answer. Has anyone tried PM’ing him yet?

  1. did you delete the font cache afterwards? do you know the program onyx? it comes with an option the clear the font cache. in order to let the tsmuxer run, you need to delete the font cache. but first of all find the two font types. did you search manually for them? program is running and movies are able to be played on my ps3.

    cheers

    • Bengt
    • January 7th, 2011

    I still have the “can’t detect stream type” problem even though i removed the font(s) (found only the Gungseouche.ttf, AppleMyungjo.ttf is “missing”) and used Onyx to delete the cache and restarted. Is there something else to try?

    Grateful for help.

    • pit
    • January 14th, 2011

    same for Can’t detect stream type even with deleting font caches with onyx

    • pit
    • February 5th, 2011

    @lloyd
    still the same even after clearing font cache

    • cgguy
    • February 9th, 2011

    I had the “can’t detect stream” issue with m2ts. I’m not sure which of these steps finally worked, but give these a shot:

    * don’t rename but move or delete the fonts from the /library/fonts folder

    * remove all caches, using “sudo atsutil databases -remove”

    that worked for me

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

